Our governance

abcd is a registered charity and company limited by guarantee.

It has a Board of Trustees, who are both Trustees of the charity and Directors of the company. The Trustees, collectively and individually, hold principal responsibility for the strategic and financial stewardship of the Association.

Our Advisory Council is comprised of representatives from the various regions of abcd, our Corporate members and a number of elected practitioners who represent a wide rang of choral music sectors. Together, they have responsibility for advising on artistic direction, activity and membership.

President: John Rutter CBE
Vice-presidents: Brian Kay and Susan Hollingworth

Board of Trustees

Ken Fayle(Chair)
Martin Ashley
Gill Blazey
Melanie Crompton
Leslie East (Deputy Chair)
Simon Gregory
Peter Owens
Mark Sproson

Advisory Council

Ken Fayle (Chair)


Naveen Arles
Ian Assersohn
Amy Bebbington (abcd Director of Training)
James Davey
Gillian Dibden
Jeremy Haneman
Martin Seymour
Jonathan Schranz

Corporate Representatives

Griselda Sherlaw-Johnson (Oxford University Press)
James Eggleston (Boosey & Hawkes)

Regional Representatives

North: Enid Mitchell
North West: Martin Cook
Midlands: Richard Jeffries
Yorkshire: Tom Leech

Our staff and officers

Find out about our staff and officers here.

Our tutor pool

Find out about our skilled team of tutors here.